Repertoire Search

Hans Abrahamsen

Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen

...The man has created some of the most poetically condensed works ever written on Danish soil - Thomas Michelsen, Politiken

...A craftsman by the grace of God, a colourist of Ravel’s calibre - Søren Schauser, Berlingske Tidende

..The Danish composer seems to settle new musical territory in every piece he composes, remaking his language and reassessing his debts to the past at every step - Andrew Clements, The Guardian

..The Dane's music seems to know exactly what it wants to say, and how, and why. It doesn't waffle or shy away; it contains much quiet mystique and evocation but never dodges the point. - Kate Molleson, The Guardian
Key Works:
Career Highlights:
  • 2018 appointed Honorary Professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Music, Copenhagen
  • 2016 Diapason d’Or for "let me tell you"
  • 2016 awarded the Nordic Council Music Prize for "let me tell you"
  • 2016 awarded the Grawemeyer Award for Music Composition for "let me tell you"
  • 2016 awarded the Gramophone Classical Music Award for Contemporary Music for "let me tell you"
  • 2016 awarded the Edison Klassiek Music Prize for "let me tell you"
  • 2015 let me tell you awarded Best Large-Scale Composition at the Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards
  • 2012 featured composer at the Witten Days for New Chamber Music in Germany.
  • 2008 world premiere of Schnee (complete version) in Witten by Ensemble Recherche.
  • 2005 UK premiere of Four Pieces for Orchestra at the BBC Proms, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Ilan Volkov
  • 1998 awarded the Edition Wilhelm Hansen Composer Prize
  • 1995 appointed assistant professor in composition and orchestration at The Royal Danish Academy of Music, Copenhagen
  • 1989 awarded the Carl Nielsen Prize
  • 1982 Nacht und Trompeten is commissioned and premiered by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Hans Werner Henze
  • 1971-81 composition studies with Per Nørgård, Pelle Gudmundsen-Holmgreen and György Ligeti.

Close X

Newsletter Signup

Please fill in this form to receive regular news

Click here to receive regular news
© Copyright 2018 Music Sales Classical. Part of the Music Sales Group.